Resolution 2019-20: 128

RJSCB Election of Officers, Appointments and Committee Assignments FY 2020-21

By Board Member Tom Richards

WHEREAS, the Rochester School Facilities Modernization Program Act ("the Act") established the Rochester Joint Schools Construction Board ("RJSCB" or "Board"), a seven voting member board consisting of equal representation by the City of Rochester ("City") and the Rochester City School District ("District"), as well as a member jointly selected by the City and the District; and

WHEREAS, under the Act, the RJSCB has certain enumerated powers to act as agent for the District, the City, or both; and

WHEREAS, the authorizing legislation for Phase 2 of the Rochester Schools Modernization Program ("RSMP") was signed into law by the Governor of the State of New York on December 17, 2014; and

WHEREAS, the amended School Modernization Act authorized up to 26 projects in Phase 2 of the RSMP including a District Wide Technology program which involves technology upgrades and infrastructure work at several of the possible projects; and

WHEREAS, the RJSCB, under Article I Section 3 of the RJSCB Bylaws ("Bylaws"), the Board is required to conduct an annual organization meeting on or about July 1 of each year to elect a Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, the Board deems it advisable and in the best interests of the Corporation to elect Norman Jones as Chair, Michael Schmidt as Vice Chair and Rosiland Brooks-Harris as Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, Article II Section 4 of the Bylaws, authorizes the M/WBE and Services Procurement/Finance Committee and the Finance Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Board deems it advisable and in the best interests of the Corporation to appoint Norman Jones, Michael Schmidt, I. Geena Cruz and Thomas Richards to the M/WBE and Services Procurement/Finance Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Board deems it advisable and in the best interests of the Corporation to appoint Norman Jones, Michael Schmidt, Rosiland Brooks-Harris and Jesse Dudley to the Finance Committee; and

WHEREAS, Article III Section 2 of the Bylaws, authorizes appointment of a Board Clerk and Resolution 2019-20: 35 authorizes the appointment of a Program Coordinator; and

WHEREAS, the Board deems it advisable and in the best interests of the Corporation to appoint Kimberly Mitchell as Board Clerk and Allen Williams as Program Coordinator; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

1. The RJSCB elects Norman Jones as Chair, Michael Schmidt as Vice Chair and Rosiland Brooks-Harris as Treasurer; and

- 2. The RJSCB appoints Norman Jones, Michael Schmidt, I. Geena Cruz and Thomas Richards to the M/WBE and Services Procurement/Finance Committee; and
- 3. The RJSCB appoints Norman Jones, Michael Schmidt, Rosiland Brooks-Harris and Jesse Dudley to the Finance Committee; and
- 4. The RJSCB appoints Kimberly Mitchell as Board Clerk and Allen Williams as Program Coordinator; and
- 5. Any actions taken by such officers prior to the date of the foregoing resolutions adopted hereby, that are within the authority conferred thereby, are hereby ratified, confirmed and approved as the acts and deeds of the RJSCB.

Second by Board Member Jesse Dudley Adopted 6-0